I do have to admit it’s been a long, hard road to get to where I am today.   I am not alone.  I have obstacles, but God provides me the endurance.

Twenty years ago today I brought my son to the police station when I filed an Aggravated Child Abuse report on my ‘then’ fiance, which led to an arrest.  I wrote more about this on the anniversary last year.   Please feel free to read my prior post here and here.

I would rather reflect this year on the blessings.

As a parent, I had always wanted my child(ren) to have more than I had received in life.  I am not speaking about material items, as I have learned through the years, those are not at all important in life.

I have been blessed with a child whose direction led him to Faith.  Friends with Faith.  Wholesome friends who support one another.  They show respect to one another and to their parents.  They take the initiative to develop healthy relationships.

Throughout the past 25 years, I sit back, watch and listen to my son; often times tears fill my eyes – with happiness.

Thank you for being who you are, child of mine.  For making the decisions you have made.

You have grown into a fine young man.

Thank you for making “Mothers Day” a day I truly cherish.  A day I celebrate all year-long because of you.

143

